2_s-83x83Dr. Rita Chowdhury

In 1981, her debut novel ‘Abirata Jatra’ (Incessant Journey) was published and truly reflecting the name of the novel her relentless journey into the Assamese literary world has also been started. Accolades bestowed on her and she was awarded the Asom Sahitya Sabha award in 1981 for this very first novel.

Even after holding a responsible post of senior lecturer in Political Science in the historic Cotton College in Guwahati, Dr Rita Chowdhury, through her sheer talent, dedication and perseverance, has been able to carve a niche and establish herself as a successful litterateur.

After Abirata Jatra, Rita Chowdhury never looked back. She wrote a series of popular novels namely Thirthabhumi(The Shrine) in 1988, Maha Jibanar Adharshila(Foundation Stone of Great Life) in 1993, Nayana Tarali Sujatain 1996, Popiya Torar Xadhu(Tale of a Meteor) in 1998, Rag-malkoshin 1999, Jala-Padma(Water-Lotus) in 1999, Hridoy Nirupai(The Helpless Heart) in 2003, Deo-Langkhui(The Divine Sword) in 2005, Makam(The Golden Horse) in 2010 and Mayabritta (The Circle of Worldly Illusion) in 2012. It is noteworthy that each of her novels is depiction of some significant aspect of the society and significantly all are best-sellers with universal appeal. Her lucid style of writing is appreciated by all.

She received the prestigious Sahitya Akademi Award in 2008 for her novel Deo Langkhui (published in 2005) which was based on the Tiwas of Assam. Partly history and mostly legends, the plot of this novel is constructed in a manner that can easily be demarcated as a departure from traditional one although traditions and reality merge into a complete whole. She is the only person from the mainstream Assamese community to break into the highly secluded and conservative Tiwa society and subsequently rising to be the stature of being a carrier of their subaltern oral history into another form and academic society.

Makam is a landmark creation in her literary career. ‘Makam’ or ‘The Golden Horse’ truly helped her literary fame run in a horse’s pace. Ten editions of Makam were published in the year it was released. It is itself a record in the history of Assamese novel.

MAKAM represents life. This is the story of the Assamese-Chinese, who were arrested, interned and deported by the Indian Government during the Sino-Indian war in 1962. This is a crucial part of war strangely never touched by any scholar. She is the lone voice of those war-affected people; who are still sandwiched between national self-glorification of both the nations. This is her powerful voice for those people. Intellectuals all over the world have been taking note of her work and inviting her to speak on it; including the Jaipur Literary Festival and several international seminars of Delhi University.

This novelist who is also a poet believes in universal humanity. She believes that all the people in the world are connected to one another through a single secreted thread. She strongly believes in that cohesive power.

Rita Chowdhury’s fiction reflects the harsh reality of life and the society. Sometimes it is cotemporary and sometimes it is historical. This reality takes her to the core of her reader’s heart. She never does any injustice to her characters. Although there is a subterranean flow of feminism in some of her novels, she is only reflecting the reality. She is unprejudiced. Most of her novels are research-based and outcome of her extensive study. Close observation of human nature moulded her characters making them popular among the readers barring caste, creed, gender, religion and most importantly of the age. People of all age-groups love her fiction.

Born in 20th August, 1960, Rita Chowdhury joined the Asom Jatiyatabadi Juba Chatra Parishad, a student organization when she was only eighteen. Later she became an active worker in the famous Assam Movement. Her husband Mr. Chandra Mohan Patowary is a renowned politician of the state. She has a son and a daughter for whom she is a friend rather than a mother.

Noted Literary Creations:

Sl No. Name of Books First Published (Year) Publisher ISBN
1 Makam (Novel) 2010 Jyoti Prakashan, Guwahati 978-81-920061-0-9
2 Deo Langkhui (Novel) 2005 Jyoti Prakashan, Guwahati 978-81-920061-2-3
3 Ei Xomoy Xei Xomoy (Novel) 2010 Jyoti Prakashan, Guwahati 978-93-8145-35-4
4 Mayabritta (Novel) 2012 Jyoti Prakashan, Guwahati 978-93-81485-39-2
5 Makam (English) 2015 The Pangea House

Other Literary Creations:

Sl No. Name of Books First Published (Year) Publisher ISBN
1 Abirata Yatra (Novel) 1981 Bani Mandir, Dibrugarh 978-93-81485-48-4
2 Pratyaxar Swapna (Poem) 1982 LBS, Guwahati
3 Tirtha Bhumi (Novel) 1988 Deepti Prakashan, Guwahati
4 Xudoor Nakshatra (Poem) 1989 Sofia Publication, Guwahati
5 Maha Jivanar Adharxila (Novel) 1993 Jyoti Prakashan, Guwahati 978-81-920061-6-1
6 Nayana Tarali Sujata (Novel) 1996 LBS, Guwahati 978-81-920061-4-7
7 Alap Poharar Alap Andharar (Poem) 1997 LBS, Guwahati
8 Janglee Hawa Ki Aahat (Hindi Translation) 1997 Abhiruchi Prakashan, New Delhi
9 Bonoria Botahor Xuhuri (Poem) 1996
10 Papiya Torar Xadhu (Novel) 1998 Cambridge India, Guwahati 978-81-920061-1-6
11 Baga Matir Tulashi (Poem) 1999 LBS, Guwahati
12 Rag Malkosh (Novel) 1999 Assam Book Depot, Guwahati 978-81-920061-9-2
13 Jala Padma (Novel) 1999 Assam Book Depot, Guwahati 978-81-920061-5-4
14 Hriday Nirupai (Novel) 2003 Jyoti Prakashan, Guwahati
15 Papi Nakshatrer Galpa (Novel) 2005 Gatidhara, Dacca, Bangladesh
16 Razeeb Iswar (Novel) 2007 Jyoti Prakashan, Guwahati 978-93-81485-39-2
17 Jahnabi (Novel) 2007 Jyoti Prakashan, Guwahati 978-93-81485-42-2

Non-Fiction Books

Sl No. Name of Books First Published (Year) Publisher ISBN
1 The Divided Soul (Coffee Table Book) 2015 The Pangea House, New Delhi

Production Work

Sl No. Name of Work Year Producer
1 Wars and Tears (Documentary) 2015 The Pangea House, New Delhi